Whirligig and The Copper Road by Richard Buxton- a review

Whirligig Whirligig, set during the American Civil War, isn’t exactly a war story. It is essentially about one man’s desire to keep his promise to his childhood friend, one that takes him to Tennesse as a part of a group of soldiers who are fighing in the war. Clara and Shire, our two friends areContinue reading “Whirligig and The Copper Road by Richard Buxton- a review”

Book Review: Extraordinary Lies by Jennifer Alsever|Two gifted kids, a series of bizarre experiments and a country with shady motives|

1971. Stanford University. San Francisco Two girls, Charley and Julia find themselves amidst people with abilities almost similar to theirs. They are gifted children, some have been hiding their abilities, while the others- not so much. As they are grouped together in the prestigious Stanford University, away from their home and into a set ofContinue reading “Book Review: Extraordinary Lies by Jennifer Alsever|Two gifted kids, a series of bizarre experiments and a country with shady motives|”

Suncatcher by Romesh Gunesekara

Kairo, born in a working-class family in the 1960’s Ceylon (now Sri Lanka) meets Jay, a boy who seeks adventure and thrill to cover up his hate for his rich, influential and stubborn father and his loathing for his sensitive mother. In the present scenario, Ceylon battles a political crisis, a perfect time for youngContinue reading “Suncatcher by Romesh Gunesekara”

Book Review: A Respectable Woman by Easterine Kire

Kire’s latest novel ‘A Respectable Women’ is a daughter’s account of a changing landscape through the stories told by her mother and some bitter personal experiences. Kevinuo is fascinated by stories of her homeland and when her mother finally starts telling her tales from the past, stories of a war-torn Nagaland, she is elated. SheContinue reading “Book Review: A Respectable Woman by Easterine Kire”

Book Review: Laetitia Rodd and The Case of the Wandering Scholar by Kate Saunders|A Victorian Era Detective Series

Laetitia Rodd, a detective in her early 50s, returns with this murder mystery that is all about love, loss, and redemption. Mrs. Rodd’s next job is to find a ‘lunatic’ wandering scholar and give him a letter by his affluent brother who is on his deathbed. As Laetitia looks for ways to fulfill her dutiesContinue reading “Book Review: Laetitia Rodd and The Case of the Wandering Scholar by Kate Saunders|A Victorian Era Detective Series”

Book Review: The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead|A house of horrors and the Fate of countless Black lives|

“We must believe in our souls that we are somebody, that we are significant, that we are worthful, and we must walk the streets of life every day with this sense of dignity and this sense of somebody-ness.” Inspired by real-life events, ‘The Nickel Boys’ is angsty and barbaric. One of the darkest phases inContinue reading “Book Review: The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead|A house of horrors and the Fate of countless Black lives|”

Book Review: A Promised Land by Khadija Mastur

I have read numerous accounts on India’s post-partition story, but none from the other side of the border. ‘A Promised Land’ is a refugee’s story, forced to leave her ancestral home and move to a refugee camp in the newly formed country, Pakistan. Sajidah arrives at the Walton Camp with her father. She has beenContinue reading “Book Review: A Promised Land by Khadija Mastur”

e-ARC Review: How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee|Some scars never fade|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything. For fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko and Georgia Hunter’s We Were the Lucky Ones. Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, aContinue reading “e-ARC Review: How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee|Some scars never fade|”

Book Review: Muhammad Bin Tughlaq by Anuja Chandramouli|The man behind countless conquests and bloodshed|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): MUHAMMAD WAS A GOOD MAN WHO DID TERRIBLE THINGS AND A TYRANT OF A SULTAN WHO TRIED TO DO GOOD. When his father dies, Prince Jauna Khan succeeds to the throne of Delhi as Muhammad bin Tughlaq. His reign will prove to be epic and bloody, but unsurpassed in splendour, innovation andContinue reading “Book Review: Muhammad Bin Tughlaq by Anuja Chandramouli|The man behind countless conquests and bloodshed|”

Book Review: Romanov by Nadine Brandes|Did Anastasia Romanova die without avenging her family?

Blurb (as on Goodreads): The history books say I died. They don’t know the half of it. Anastasia “Nastya” Romanov was given a single mission: to smuggle an ancient spell into her suitcase on her way to exile in Siberia. It might be her family’s only salvation. But the leader of the Bolshevik army is afterContinue reading “Book Review: Romanov by Nadine Brandes|Did Anastasia Romanova die without avenging her family?”