New Release Alert: Children Of Virtue And Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi

Tomi Adeyemi’s ground-breaking debut became a global phenomenon and instant #1 New York Times bestseller! #NowWeRise THE LEGACY OF ORÏSHA continues with CHILDREN OF VIRTUE AND VENGEANCE   December 3, 2019 “A phenomenon.” — Entertainment Weekly “The next big thing in literature and film.” — Ebony magazine Children of Blood and Bone by 24-year-old author Tomi Adeyemi has explodedContinue reading “New Release Alert: Children Of Virtue And Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi”

Book Review: We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal

We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal. I have so much to say for this book but before that, I am going to ask you to remember the times when you came across a book that checked all the boxes but was still not satisfying enough. A huntress, an assassin and a sassy sidekick embarkContinue reading “Book Review: We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal”

Book Review: Pan’s Labyrinth by Guillermo Del Toro and Cornelia Funke|Fairy tale tragedies and real-life brutality|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Oscar-winning writer-director Guillermo del Toro and New York Times bestselling author Cornelia Funke have come together to transform del Toro’s hit movie Pan’s Labyrinth into an epic and dark fantasy novel for readers of all ages, complete with haunting illustrations and enchanting short stories that flesh out the folklore of this fascinating world. This spellbinding taleContinue reading “Book Review: Pan’s Labyrinth by Guillermo Del Toro and Cornelia Funke|Fairy tale tragedies and real-life brutality|”

Book Review: Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri|Fantasy inspired by women from Mughal-India and Hindu Mythology|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy. The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is theContinue reading “Book Review: Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri|Fantasy inspired by women from Mughal-India and Hindu Mythology|”

e-ARC Review: ‘Sorcery of Thorns’ by Margaret Rogerson|Sorcery, monstrous books, love, and friendship

Blurb (as on Goodreads): All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters ofContinue reading “e-ARC Review: ‘Sorcery of Thorns’ by Margaret Rogerson|Sorcery, monstrous books, love, and friendship”

Book Review: Near Witch by VE Schwab|A evil witch, a stranger, and some puzzling abductions

Blurb (as on Goodreads): The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children.  If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company.  And there are no strangers in the town of Near. These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life.Continue reading “Book Review: Near Witch by VE Schwab|A evil witch, a stranger, and some puzzling abductions”

Book Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer|A lost girl, a lonely prince and an unpredictable witch|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): An instant New York Times Best Seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Fall in love, break the curse.  It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed byContinue reading “Book Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer|A lost girl, a lonely prince and an unpredictable witch|”

Book Review: Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa|A terrific world building|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish—and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos. Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn.Continue reading “Book Review: Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa|A terrific world building|”

6 reasons why ‘The Priory of the Orange Tree’ by Samantha Shannon is as promising as it looks

Blurb (as on Goodreads): The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction—but assassins are getting closer to her door. Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she isContinue reading “6 reasons why ‘The Priory of the Orange Tree’ by Samantha Shannon is as promising as it looks”

Review: The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden|Winternight #3

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Following their adventures in The Bear and the Nightingale and The Girl in the Tower, Vasya and Morozko return in this stunning conclusion to the bestselling Winternight Trilogy, battling enemies mortal and magical to save both Russias, the seen and the unseen. Now Moscow has been struck by disaster. Its people are searching for answers—and forContinue reading “Review: The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden|Winternight #3”