Book Review: The Empire of Gold by S. A. Chakraborty|Conquests, shifting loyalties and forbidden magic|

A quick recap: Daevabad has fallen. Ghassan has been killed by a mysterious vapor crafted by Manizheh. Thousands of Djinns are dead and a few more are trapped in Daevabad, which has lost it’s ancient magic, it’s veil of fog faded and is now accesible to the outer world. Muntadhir has been chained, Ali hasContinue reading “Book Review: The Empire of Gold by S. A. Chakraborty|Conquests, shifting loyalties and forbidden magic|”

Book Review: We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal

We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal. I have so much to say for this book but before that, I am going to ask you to remember the times when you came across a book that checked all the boxes but was still not satisfying enough. A huntress, an assassin and a sassy sidekick embarkContinue reading “Book Review: We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal”

Book Review: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

Have I thought about stumbling upon a door to a different world more times than once? YES! That is what this book will do to you. It will make you dream of fictional worlds and not just Hogwarts, but every kind of world you have ever wanted to be a part of. I have feltContinue reading “Book Review: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow”

Book Review: Pan’s Labyrinth by Guillermo Del Toro and Cornelia Funke|Fairy tale tragedies and real-life brutality|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Oscar-winning writer-director Guillermo del Toro and New York Times bestselling author Cornelia Funke have come together to transform del Toro’s hit movie Pan’s Labyrinth into an epic and dark fantasy novel for readers of all ages, complete with haunting illustrations and enchanting short stories that flesh out the folklore of this fascinating world. This spellbinding taleContinue reading “Book Review: Pan’s Labyrinth by Guillermo Del Toro and Cornelia Funke|Fairy tale tragedies and real-life brutality|”

Book Review: Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri|Fantasy inspired by women from Mughal-India and Hindu Mythology|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy. The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is theContinue reading “Book Review: Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri|Fantasy inspired by women from Mughal-India and Hindu Mythology|”

e-ARC Review: ‘Sorcery of Thorns’ by Margaret Rogerson|Sorcery, monstrous books, love, and friendship

Blurb (as on Goodreads): All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters ofContinue reading “e-ARC Review: ‘Sorcery of Thorns’ by Margaret Rogerson|Sorcery, monstrous books, love, and friendship”

Book Review: The Children of Destruction by Kuber Kaushik

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Magic has been hiding at the edges of reality all along For Alice, life as a teenager was hard enough without turning into a supernatural herald of destruction. And you would think that after causing mini hurricanes with a mere sneeze, being visited by talking foxes and ending up on a journeyContinue reading “Book Review: The Children of Destruction by Kuber Kaushik”

Book Review: Near Witch by VE Schwab|A evil witch, a stranger, and some puzzling abductions

Blurb (as on Goodreads): The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children.  If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company.  And there are no strangers in the town of Near. These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life.Continue reading “Book Review: Near Witch by VE Schwab|A evil witch, a stranger, and some puzzling abductions”

Book Review: Descendant of The Crane by Joan He|A naive princess, a suspicious death and an unreliable protector

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Tyrants cut out hearts. Rulers sacrifice their own. Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: sheContinue reading “Book Review: Descendant of The Crane by Joan He|A naive princess, a suspicious death and an unreliable protector”

Book Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer|A lost girl, a lonely prince and an unpredictable witch|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): An instant New York Times Best Seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Fall in love, break the curse.  It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed byContinue reading “Book Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer|A lost girl, a lonely prince and an unpredictable witch|”