Book Review: Nothing Ventured by Jeffrey Archer


43263542Lord Archer shines as an extraordinary crime fiction writer because of his sound understanding of his characters. I have always been drawn to his books when I am looking for something comforting but thrilling (if that makes any sense).
Nothing Ventured marks the beginning of the William Warwick series, mentioned numerous times in The Clifton Chronicles. Warwick’s rise to one of the greatest detectives after refusing to follow his father’s footsteps and study law is well known and Lord Archer has dedicated this series to his life.
Young Warwick is recruited to the Arts and Antiquities department after passing the necessary tests.
As he is subjected to the day to day proceedings of the police procedures and is asked to solve a complicated theft, Warwick meets and falls in love with Beth Rainsford, a charming woman and a mystery waiting to be unraveled.

Archer lays an interesting premise, leaving loose ends here and there and building an atmosphere that will compel us to read the entire series as and when it releases. Warwick’s initial days as a detective, the choices he gets to make and his attraction towards a woman who feigns danger, there is a lot of character development throughout the story. Archer subjects us to process of a typical investigation- the court procedures, etc. and Warwick comes out as a promising detective and a wonderful human. I also admired how easy Archer made it navigate through the story. He writes clearly and precisely and I think that what helped me connect well with the story.

‘Nothing Ventured’ focusses both on the actual plot and the characters, making them memorable and allow us to anticipate the future of the series. I am definitely looking forward to the rest of the books in the series.
Definitely Recommended.


Purchase Links:                   |Amazon Kindle|Amazon Paperback|

Blurb (as on Goodreads):

Nothing Ventured heralds the start of a brand new series in the style of Jeffrey Archer’s #1 New York Times bestselling Clifton Chronicles: introducing Detective William Warwick. But this is not a detective story, this is a story about the making of a detective . . .

William Warwick has always wanted to be a detective, and decides, much to his father’s dismay, that rather than become a lawyer like his father, Sir Julian Warwick QC, and his sister Grace, he will join London’s Metropolitan Police Force.

After graduating from university, William begins a career that will define his life: from his early months on the beat under the watchful eye of his first mentor, Constable Fred Yates, to his first high-stakes case as a fledgling detective in Scotland Yard’s arts and antiquities squad. Investigating the theft of a priceless Rembrandt painting from the Fitzmolean Museum, he meets Beth Rainsford, a research assistant at the gallery who he falls hopelessly in love with, even as Beth guards a secret of her own that she’s terrified will come to light.

While William follows the trail of the missing masterpiece, he comes up against suave art collector Miles Faulkner and his brilliant lawyer, Booth Watson QC, who are willing to bend the law to breaking point to stay one step ahead of William. Meanwhile, Miles Faulkner’s wife, Christina, befriends William, but whose side is she really on?

This new series introduces William Warwick, a family man and a detective who will battle throughout his career against a powerful criminal nemesis. Through twists, triumph and tragedy, this series will show that William Warwick is destined to become one of Jeffrey Archer’s most enduring legacies.


*Thank you PanMacmillan India for a copy of the book. All opinions are my own*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: