e-ARC Review: The Missing Wife by Sam Carrington|A psychological Thriller you can binge on this weekend|

Cover - Copy.jpg

Blurb (as on Goodreads):

You think you know those closest to you. You are wrong…

A sleep-deprived new mother approaching her fortieth birthday, the very last thing Louisa wants to do is celebrate.

But when her friend Tiff organizes a surprise party, inviting the entire list of Louisa’s Facebook friends, Louisa is faced with a room full of people she hasn’t spoken to in years – including someone she never expected to see again: her ex-boyfriend, Oliver Dunmore.

When Oliver’s wife Melissa goes missing after the party, everyone remembers the night differently. Someone knows what happened to Melissa, and Louisa is determined to find them. But the truth could be closer, and the deception more devastating, than she’d ever imagined…

A gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing’s My Lovely Wife, Lucy Clarke’s You Let Me In and Linda Green’s The Last Thing She Told Me.

Untitled - CopyThe Missing Wife’ left me conflicted and baffled with its predictable plot, flawed characters and small moments of surprise.

A new mother, Louisa life can be best known as a complaining mom who can barely get through the day because hew baby won’t let her sleep. For the first few pages, we listen to go on and on about how all she wants is a break but is too concerned about her child to take one. We also find out that she suspects her husband of an affair, when in fact her husband is silently planning a big birthday party for her. A party where she finally comes face to face with Oliver Dunmore. But Oliver’s wife is missing and no one has a clue because they barely remember the party, all thanks to copious amounts alcohol they all consumed.

As the details get blurred and blame game starts, we get to know the history between Oliver and Louise and the plot is further driven by obsession, murder, and mayhem.

The obvious problem with the story is that it lacks a distinct high and low. The pace is the same throughout, even when the plot thickens. The characters are messy, as with any psychological thriller and the anticipation for the big climax was lacking. The plot is decent, with most elements for an okayish psychological thriller.

‘The Missing Wife’ however, is a very forgettable book. Perfect for binge reading over the weekend

ratings

5-heart-rating

Purchase Links:                    |Amazon Kindle|Amazon Paperback|

Coot_page_divider

love

*Thank you to the publisher for a copy of the book. All opinions are my own*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: